Skip to content


Assessor of Property Brett Skelton will be the only Republican nominee seeking a Perry County office on the August ballot.
He is unopposed in the March 5 primary for the GOP nomination. Any potential challengers will be running as independents, as will candidates for Perry County School Board and Alderman seats in Linden and Lobelville—the only other local offices up for election or re-election on the August ballot.
If Sheriff Nick Weems resigns, as he has announced, in time for that position to be on the August ballot, candidates seeking the Sheriff’s position will have until April 4 to qualify. Sheriff’s candidates must also be POST-certified in order to run.
The sample ballot for the March 5 election appears in this issue. Early voting begins Wednesday, February 14, and runs through Tuesday, February 27, at the Election Commission office, 113 Factory Street, Linden.
Please note: the Election Commission office will be closed Monday, February 19, for President’s Day, during the early voting period.
The deadline to request an absentee ballot is Tuesday, February 27.
The deadline to register to vote March 5 has passed; it was Monday, February 5.
The March 5 ballot is the Presidential Preference Primary for both parties.
On the Republican ticket, headed by apparent frontrunner Donald Trump, voters have limited choices as Chris Christie, Ron DeSantis, Asa Hutchinson, and Vivek Ramaswamy—even though their names appear on the ballot—have suspended their campaigns.
The three remaining GOP candidates battling Trump are Ryan Binkley, Nikki Haley, and David Stuckenberg.
The March 5 Republican ballot appears long because of Presidential delegates. Sixty-six candidates—described by the person they are supporting for President or uncommitted status—are vying for at-large delegate positions. Republican voters are asked to selection fourteen.
Fourteen are running for Seventh Congressional District delegate slots; these candidates too are differentiated by Presidential choice. Republican voters are asked to choose three.
The Democratic ballot is simpler. Only one person is running for the Oval Office nomination: President Joseph Biden.
Polls will open at 9:00 a.m. on election day and close at 7:00 p.m. If you have questions about voting, please contact the Election Commission office at 931-589-2025.

Leave a Comment